Board Members


Tower Grove Park is owned by the City of St. Louis and governed by a special Board of Commissioners appointed by the Missouri Supreme Court. The current commissioners are:

Board of Commissioners

Steve M. Kidwell, President
Robert J. Herleth, Vice President
Robert S. Holmes, Secretary
Emily Aschinger Martin
Frederick H. Atwood, III
Robert F. Epperson, Jr.
James L. Fogle
Mike Konzen
Lisa Luedde
Laurence McCarthy
Rudy Nickens
Michael R. Spotanski
Dr. Peter Wyse Jackson

Robert W. Sellers, President, Tower Grove Park Foundation

Emeritus Commissioners

Dennis G. Coleman
Jane Gleason
John D. Haffenreffer
R. Crosby Kemper III
Susan R. Lammert
Thomas Purcell
Dr. Peter Raven
Anne C. Stupp
Cheryl D. S. Walker

Bill Reininger, Executive Director

The Past Superintendents / Directors of Tower Grove Park

During Henry Shaw's lifetime, he himself served as de facto superintendent of Tower Grove Park. Upon Shaw's death in 1889, James Gurney, the horticulturist he had brought to St. Louis from London, succeeded him, becoming the first official park superintendent. Gurney's son, James Gurney, Jr. assumed the position on his father's death in 1920. When James Gurney, Jr. died in 1943, his daughter Bernice E. Gurney returned to St. Louis to take on the position. On her retirement in 1976, Bernice Gurney was succeeded by Robert F. Denison. In 1987, John Karel became the fifth director of Tower Grove Park. John retired at the end of 2014.

Click here for a schedule of the 2019 Board of Commissioners Meetings.

The Board of Commissioners of Tower Grove Park