Click here to support your favorite Park, participate in the Park's revitalization or to join the Friends of Tower Grove Park.


The Board of Commissioners of Tower Grove Park

Tower Grove Park is owned by the City of St. Louis and governed by a special Board of Commissioners appointed by the Missouri Supreme Court. The 2017 Commissioners are:

Board of Commissioners

Robert W. Sellers, President
Steve Kidwell, Vice President
Rose Newport, Treasurer
Rudolph Nickens, Secretary
Robert J. Herleth, President, Tower Grove Park Foundation
Ted Atwood
Shelley Donaho
James L. Fogle
Bryan Martin
Michael Spotanski
Dr. Peter Wyse Jackson

Emeritus Commissioners

Dennis G. Coleman
Jane Gleason
John D. Haffenreffer
R. Crosby Kemper III
Susan R. Lammert
Eugene J. Mackey III
Thomas Purcell
Dr. Peter Raven
Anne C. Stupp
Cheryl D. S. Walker

Bill Reininger, Park Director

2017 Board of Commissioners Meeting Dates

Wednesday, March 29, 2017

11:30AM to 1:00PM

Piper Palm House


Wednesday, June 21, 2017

11:30AM to 1:00PM

Piper Palm House


Wednesday, September 27, 2017

11:30AM to 1:00PM

Piper Palm House


Wednesday, December 20, 2017

11:30AM to 1:00PM

Piper Palm House



The Past Superintendents / Directors of Tower Grove Park
During Henry Shaw's lifetime, he himself served as de facto superintendent of Tower Grove Park. Upon Shaw's death in 1889, James Gurney, the horticulturist he had brought to St. Louis from London, succeeded him, becoming the first official park superintendent. Gurney's son, James Gurney, Jr. assumed the position on his father's death in 1920. When James Gurney, Jr. died in 1943, his daughter Bernice E. Gurney returned to St. Louis to take on the position. On her retirement in 1976, Bernice Gurney was succeeded by Robert F. Denison. In 1987, John Karel became the fifth director of Tower Grove Park. John retired at the end of 2014.

Click here for a schedule of the 2016 Board of Commissioners Meetings.

The Friends of Tower Grove Park Board Members

Laurence McCarthy, President
Janine Lawler, 1st Vice President
Louis Gerteis, 2nd Vice President
Dr. William Gilbert II, Treasurer
Debbie Monterrey, Secretary
Patricia Midden, Assistant Secretary

Kristin Byrne
Erika Ebsworth-Goold
Caroline Ernst
Julie Gianino
Catherine Gilbert
Ella Gross
Thom Gross
Lee Kling
Mike Konzen
Kevin McKinney
Nina Murphy
Peggy Oates
Erika Ottolini
Dorothy Soldavini

Lee Berger
Donald Bergmann
Delores Blehm
Shelley Donaho
Francis Fanara
William Schawacker

The Park Office is closed on federal holidays. 

New Year's Day (observed)
January 2, 2017
Martin Luther King Day
January 16, 2017
Presidents' Day
February 20, 2017
Memorial Day
May 29, 2017
Independence Day
July 4, 2017
Labor Day
September 4, 2017
Columbus Day
October 9, 2017
Veterans Day (observed)
November 10, 2017
Thanksgiving Day
November 23, 2017
Christmas Day
December 25, 2017


Missouri Botanical Garden

South City Open Studio and Gallery for Children

Compton Heights Concert Band of St. Louis

The Butler's Pantry

Hendri's Catering